Taggar

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

En muslimsk syster (i niqab om någon nu undrar) skriver en mycket intressant och läsvärd artikel. Artikeln är en del av ”I Speak for Myself: American Women on Being Muslim”. Varsågoda och läs.

My internal turmoil increased. I could not give up my identity in Islam, because not only did I have a very strong belief in God and His final revelation, I also appreciated the many logical and beneficial aspects of the Islamic lifestyle. Nevertheless, I was very conflicted over my father’s view of women, which he claimed was preached in Islam. I highly respected my father and was not yet mature enough to admit that his understanding could be mistaken or imperfect; thus I was unable to merely reject his position. Instead, the conflict seemed to create a split personality inside me.